My life, family and photography

I had the opportunity to photograph a music class that took place in one of the schools of the company I work for.  They are early childhood education schools – infant through Pre-K.  My daughter also happens to attend this school.  But on this day I got to photograph the babies…they are natural-born musicians and LOVE music class each week.  One little girl in particular is a quiet observer…Little Miss S was observed looking on quietly as the music therapist (she’s the one that runs the music classes in this school) played the guitar and sang the songs.  She’s not unhappy, but she’s also does not seem fully engaging in the music and playing along like the other children.  As the class moves on she starts to become curious about the guitar, looks on quietly and slowly reaches in to touch.  She even looks up at the teacher at one point, as if to make sure it is okay to explore and touch.  Then the teacher takes her hand and guides it to the strings of the guitar to show her how they work.  She continues to engage in the activity…but on her own terms.  And then, as if to acknowledge me and to say, “See, I did it…” she looks right at me, very seriously and I oblige by taking a picture of her so as to congratulate her for stepping out on a limb and trusting her heartstrings.  I know she tugged at mine!

Comments on: "Heartstrings…out on a limb" (1)

  1. Beautiful and real story.. love the pictures as well 🙂

Leave a comment